Skip to content

Cheap beer is OK…unless it’s too cheap

April 8, 2015

I’ve been on a little bit of a cheap beer kick lately. Not only to save a few bucks here and there, but also because of the lower calorie count.

I’ve found that over the past few months, I’ve added a little padding that I don’t need going into the golf and summer seasons. In an effort to get rid of that, I examined where I can easily cut back. Food was the logical choice at first, but let’s be honest, grilling season is upon us now too, and nothing beats a good steak, burger, chicken wings, etc.

Cutting back on on beer also seemed like a ridiculous option until I looked at how much I was drinking of high ABV beers.  having just 3 double or single IPAs for example – ranging from 5-9 percent alcohol equates to about 1000 calories! I was floored. I never once gave a thought to how filling they are, just how delicious they can be.

It was a hard choice, but I made a call – to switch to a – gulp…..”lite or light” beer. I eliminated anything Bud right away, on principle mostly after this stupidly lame commercial, which essentially slams the craft beer industry.

I have dabbled in the Coors Light arena before, but this time, it seemed too light for me. PBR was a contender, so was Narragansett, and I will probably have these at some point. But i picked up a 12-pk of Miller Lite on a whim, and gave it a second chance. I had had this in college and thought it was awful.

This time around, I was pleasantly surprised! They make a solid beer. One that I can have more of with friends at a BBQ and note have to worry about the massive amounts of calories the beer is adding to the meal. Give it a chance if you are skeptical. It’s a pretty solid option.

I’ll still grab an IPA every now and then, but the insane demands and limits of some, and the high ABV have curtailed my consumption for the next little while.

 

Mike

No comments yet

Leave a comment